Johnson, Martinez, Smoltz, Biggio elected to Hall of Fame

A trio of dominant starting pitchers, and a hitter in the 3k club made it into the most abundant class of new Hall of Famers since 1955. This summer, four new players will be in baseball’s most prestigious hall in Cooperstown, NY.

Since the first time since 1955, four players were elected. Back in 1955, it was Joe DiMaggio, Dazzy Vance, Ted Lyons and Gabby Hartnett, and here in 2015, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz, and Craig Biggio have been welcomed in with open arms.


PlayerNotable Career Milestone(s)Vote Total (412 needed)Vote Percentage (75 percent needed)
Randy Johnson, LHP5-time Cy Young winner; led league in strikeouts nine times53497.3
Pedro Martinez, RHP3-time Cy Young winner; 5-time ERA champion50091.1
John Smoltz, RHP1996 NL Cy Young winner; Only player in MLB history with at least 200 wins and 150 saves45582.9
Craig Biggio, C/2B/OF3,060 career hits; led NL in doubles three times; 4-time Silver Slugger winner45482.7
Mike Piazza, C1993 NL Rookie of the Year; MLB record for HRs as Catcher (396; 427 total)38469.9
Jeff Bagwell, 1B1991 NL Rookie of the Year; 1994 NL MVP; 39th best OBP in history (.408)30655.7
Tim Raines, OF5th most stolen bases (808); 7-time All Star30255
Curt Schilling, RHP2nd best K-BB ratio in MLB history (4.38)21539.2

Next year, with less standout starting pitchers, Schilling should see a large jump in his vote totals, and Mike Piazza is likely to be voted in. For now, the closest thing to a sure thing is Piazza next year.

For now, we congratulate the four chosen today. A historic day for deserving players. Pedro Martinez becomes the first elected player born in the 1970’s.

Leave a Reply