MLB News: Los Angeles Dodgers’ pitcher Clayton Kershaw wins National League MVP

Los Angeles Dodgers‘ left-hander Clayton Kershaw has been officially named the National League MVP by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Kershaw’s the first player to win the NL MVP and Cy Young awards since Bob Gibson in 1968. The Dodgers ace received 18 of the 30 first-place votes to edge Miami Marlins slugger Giancarlo Stanton and last year’s winner Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates. Stanton took second and McCutchen took third.

“I don’t know what to say, honestly,” Kershaw said on MLB Network after the announcement. “It’s unbelievable.”

“To have people think you really mean that much to your team,” Kershaw said, “it really is a huge honor for me.”

Kershaw had a 21-3 record and posted a 1.77 ERA through 198.1 innings.

The last player in the entire MLB to sweep both the Cy Young and MVP was righty Justin Verlander back in 2011 with the Detroit Tigers.

Leave a Reply