East Coast Baseball League Names Fourth Team for Inaugural Season

The East Coast Baseball League (ECBL) revealed the name of its fourth team on Monday. After asking for input from the community through a name-the-team contest, the team will be named the Watertown Bucks. They will play their home games at Alex T. Duffy Fairgrounds in Watertown, NY.

The franchise will bring baseball back to a town that has been without a team for nearly 17 years. The Watertown Indians, the Class-A Short-Season affiliate of the Cleveland Indians, were the last team to play in Watertown back in 1998. They relocated to Staten Island the following year and became the Staten Island Yankees.

The Bucks will join the Waterloo Whiskey Jacks, Niagara Wild and Newburgh Newts as the four ECBL franchises for the league’s inaugural season.

The ECBL plans to have a 48-60 game schedule for 2015. Each team will carry 22 players on their roster during the regular season and players can be expected to make $500-$850 a month.

Anton Joe is an Independent League Baseball Reporter for Baseball Essential. You can follow him on Twitter @AntonJoe_BBE.

Leave a Reply