Astros’ Collin McHugh Wins Ninth Straight Decision

Houston Astros right-handed pitcher Collin McHugh (W, 2-0, 1.54 ERA) extended his active winning streak to nine games Wednesday night with a 6-1 win over the Oakland A’s, as the Astros avoided a three-game sweep by their division rivals.

The Astros jumped out to an early 2-0 lead in the bottom of the first, off the bat of the Jed Lowrie, the former Oakland shortstop, who drove in two with his third homer of the season and then added an RBI double in the third to pile on his old teammates.

Houston never had to look back after the first frame, as they would go on to add four more runs to the tally, with third baseman Luis Valbuena and designated hitter Evan Gattis both hitting solo shots out of the park. Valbuena’s homer was his second of the season, Gattis’s his first.

McHugh struck out 11, did not walk a batter, and gave up only one run and six hits in 5.1 innings pitched, to win his ninth straight decision dating back to August 12, 2014. The nine-game streak is the longest by an Astros pitcher since Roy Oswalt won nine straight from August 23, 2006, to April 17, 2007.

The Astros improve to 4-5 on the season with the win and are just a half-game back of the Oakland A’s.

The next Astros pitchers in McHugh’s sights are Darryl Kile and J.R. Richard, who each won ten consecutive decisions. The Houston leaderboard looks like this:

Name, Dates, Consecutive Wins
Wade Miller, 2002-07-02 to 2002-09-21, 12
Mark Portugal, 1993-07-11 to 1993-10-02, 12
Mike Hampton, 1999-06-30 to 1999-09-13, 11
Darryl Kile, 1997-06-20 to 1997-08-22, 10
J.R. Richard, 1978-08-21 to 1979-05-01, 10
Collin McHugh, 2014-08-01 to 2015-04-15, 9
Roy Oswalt, 2006-08-23 to 2007-04-17, 9
Roger Clemens, 2004-04-07 to 2004-06-08, 9
Jeriome Robertson, 2003-05-01 to 2003-07-22, 9
Roy Oswalt, 2002-07-21 to 2002-09-13, 9
Donne Wall, 1995-09-12 to 1996-07-02, 9
Ken Forsch, 1979-07-24 to 1980-05-04, 9
Joe Niekro, 1979-05-03 to 1979-06-13, 9

Leave a Reply