The 16 hosts of the NCAA Tournament were announced on Saturday evening after most of the conference tournaments had ended. The 16 sites hosting the first round of the Road To Omaha are:

  • Baton Rouge, LA – Louisiana State University (48-10)
  • Champaign, Ill – University of Illinois (47-8-1)
  • College Station, Tx – A&M University (45-11)
  • Coral Gables, Fla. – Miami (Fla.) (44-14)
  • Dallas Tx – Dallas Baptist University (43-13)
  • Ft. Worth, Tx – Texas Christian University (43-11)
  • Fullerton, Cal. – Cal State Fullerton (34-22)
  • Gainsville, Fla. – University of Florida (43-16) (Was still in play in the SEC Tournament when announced)
  • Houston, Tx – University of Houston (42-18)
  • Lake Elsinore, Cal. – UC Santa Barbara (40-15-1)
  • Los Angeles, Cal. – UCLA (42-14)
  • Louisville, Ky – Louisville University (43-16)
  • Nashville, Tenn – Vanderbilt University (42-18) (Was still in play in the SEC Tournament when announced)
  • Springfield, Mo – Missouri State University (45-10)
  • Stillwater, Okla. – Oklahoma State University (37-18)
  • Tallahassee, Fla. – Florida State University (41-19)

Four teams (three plus the host) will travel to each of the 16 regional host sites for a double-elimination tournament (Friday, May 29 through Monday, June 1). One team will win the regional and advance to the Super Regional round. The Super Regional is a best-of-three series at a host site selected by the NCAA or by virtue of being the higher seed. Once the winners are crowned, the eight teams left will go to Omaha, Nebraska, for the College World Series. The opening round will be double elimination (exactly like the Regional round), and the National Championship Series will be a best-of-three (like the Super Regional round).

The remaining tournament teams will be announced on Monday on ESPNU. By virtue of winning the Conference Tournament, these teams have Automatic Bids to the Tournament:

  • Florida State University ACC (Regional Host)
  • East Carolina University AAC 
  • Stony Brook America East
  • Virginia Commonwealth University Atlantic 10
  • Lipscomb University Atlantic Sun
  • University of Texas Big XII
  • St. John’s University Big East
  • Radford University Big South
  • University of Michigan Big 10
  • Cal State Fullerton Big West
  • UNC Willmington Colonial
  • Florida International University C-USA
  • Wright State Horizon League
  • Columbia Ivy League
  • Ohio University MAC
  • Canisius MAAC
  • Florida A&M MEAC
  • Missouri State Missouri Valley Conference (Regional Host)
  • San Diego State Mountain West Conference
  • Sacred Hart Northeast Conference
  • Morehead State University Ohio Valley Conference
  • UCLA PAC-12 (Regional Host)
  • Lehigh Patriot League
  • Mercer Southern Conference
  • University of Florida Southeastern Conference (Regional Host)
  • Houston Baptist University Southland Conference
  • University of Louisiana-Lafayette Sun Belt Conference
  • Texas Southern University SWAC
  • Oral Roberts Summit 
  • CSU Bakersfield Western Athletic Conference
  • Pepperdine West Coast Conference

About The Author

Scott Stone

Scott played college baseball at Central Christian College of Kansas before he transferred to the University of Texas at Arlington to pursue broadcasting and journalism. While at UTA, he was a broadcaster for Mavericks Baseball.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply