2015 Roberto Clemente Award nominees announced

On Monday afternoon, Major League Baseball announced the thirty nominees for the 2015 Roberto Clemente Award. Each year, all thirty teams are allowed to nominate one player for the award

Each season, Major League Baseball teams up with Chevrolet, giving the award to the player “who best represents the game of baseball through positive contributions on and off the field, including sportsmanship and community involvement.” The fans’ vote will ultimately decide the winner, and the player who will take home the award will be honored during this year’s World Series.

The award was originally known as the Commissioner’s Award, but was changed in 1973 to honor Clemente, who died on New Year’ Eve in 1972 as he was attempting provide aid to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

This Wednesday, Major League Baseball will celebrate the 14th annual Roberto Clemente Day, a day dedicated by the sport to honor Clemente’s legacy along with acknowledging this season’s award nominees for each team. Clemente spent 18 seasons in the big leagues as a member of the Pittsburgh Pirates, and was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1973.

As their are no prior winners on the ballot this season, a first-time winner will receive the award this year. Last year, Jimmy Rollins (then of the Philadelphia Phillies) and Paul Konerko of the Chicago White Sox split the award. In past seasons, 16 Hall of Famers have taken home the award, including Craig Biggio and John Smoltz, who were inducted into the Hall of Fame this season.

Here are the 2015 nominees for the award:

Arizona Diamondbacks – Paul Goldschmidt

Atlanta Braves – Jason Grilli

Baltimore Orioles – Brian Matusz

Boston Red Sox – Brock Holt

Chicago Cubs – Anthony Rizzo

Chicago White Sox – David Robertson

Cincinnati Reds – J.J. Hoover

Cleveland Indians – Carlos Carrasco

Colorado Rockies – Kyle Kendrick

Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera

Houston Astros – George Springer

Kansas City Royals – Alex Gordon

Los Angeles Angels – Hector Santiago

Los Angeles Dodgers – Adrian Gonzalez

Miami Marlins – Dee Gordon

Milwaukee Brewers – Jonathan Lucroy

Minnesota Twins – Torii Hunter

New York Mets – Curtis Granderson

New York Yankees – Mark Teixeira

Oakland Athletics – Stephen Vogt

Philadelphia Phillies – Ryan Howard

Pittsburgh Pirates – Andrew McCutchen

St. Louis Cardinals – Adam Wainwright

San Diego Padres – Andrew Cashner

San Francisco Giants – Javier Lopez

Seattle Mariners – Charlie Furbush

Tampa Bay Rays – Chris Archer

Texas Rangers – Adrian Beltre

Toronto Blue Jays – Jose Bautista

Washington Nationals – Denard Span

The fan vote will begin on Roberto Clemente Day (Wednesday, September 16, 2015), and will conclude on October 9. Fans can vote by going to ChevyBaseball.com to vote for one of the aforementioned nominees.

Leave a Reply